Databases

The Dalton Free Library is pleased to host a number of electronic databases to promote life-long learning. Some are provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC), the Massachusetts Library System (MLS), and others by generous grants from the Crane Foundation (CF).

Massachusetts Statewide Databases
Massachusetts Statewide Databases provide access to thousands of popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers (including New York Times 1985+ and Boston Globe 1980+), Encyclopaedia Britannica, biographies, health and prescription drug information, US and World History,  newswires, business directories, investment reports, K-12 resources and electronic reference books.

Grove Art, Science Online, Novelist, and Powersearch
A vast collection of multidisciplinary research databases available through the CWMARS consortium. Just use your library card number and your pin to log on to these tremendous resources. Can’t remember your PIN, try your last name in upper case letters (caps). Still need help? Contact a librarian.

Gale Powersearch
A collection of multidiscpilinary databases, encyclopedias and electronic books.

CWMARS Digital Catalog
CWMARS Digital Catalog allows you to search our collection of materials that can be downloaded to portable devices. These holdings include electronic books, audio books and videos.

Universal Class
Universal Class provides the opportunity to earn Continuing Education Credits (CEU’s). There are hundreds of courses in a wide variety of areas of study. This includes, but isn’t limited to: Business, Health, and Education fields. You must register your account at the library, but will then be able to complete coursework either at home or in the library.

E-book and e-audio downloading
Assistance and information to help you download electronic books, audio and video.

Western Massachusetts Newspapers
Archival access to approximately 30 national news magazines and 10 Western Massachusetts newspapers, including The Berkshire Eagle.

Massachusetts Moments
A digital almanac of Massachusetts history.

Massachusetts Municipalities
Contact information for all municipalities and elected officials in Massachusetts.

Digital Public Library of America
The vision of a national digital library has been circulating among librarians, scholars, educators, and private industry representatives since the early 1990s. Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.

Atomic Training
A video-based how-to training resource, Atomic Training opens up unlimited access to thousands of short videos covering more than 500 of today’s most popular software applications on both PCs and Macs. Atomic Training can be accessed at home by first creating an account on our computers at the library. If you need further assistance with this database, please contact us.

Book Flix – In Library Access
Remote access to Book Flix
BookFlix is an online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction from Children’s Press and other trusted Scholastic imprints. It is published by Scholastic Inc. BookFlix was developed in collaboration with Weston Woods Studios and engineered by Grolier Interactive.

eSequels

Social Media Tutorials

Resources for Job Seekers

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *